VILLAGE BOARD JANUARY 8, 2019

The Village Board of Combined Locks was called to order by President John Neumeier. Trustees in attendance included: Justin Krueger, Ruth Wulgaert, Tim Stutzman, Jim Ponto, Ken Vander Wielen, and Cathy Vander Zanden.

Also in attendance were Village Administrator Racquel Shampo-Giese, Outagamie County Sheriff's Sergeant John Schuette, Public Works Director Ryan Swick, Stephen Steckbauer, Zoey Stiltjes and her parents, and Judy Hebbe of the Times Villager.

The first item on the agenda was for public comment for matters not on the agenda. No public comments were received.

The next item on the agenda was to review and consider approval of the bills and previous month's meeting minutes. J. Krueger made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. C. Vander Zanden seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously. T. Stutzman made a motion to approve the bills as presented. J. Ponto seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

The next item addressed was to present the Centennial Logo Contest award to Zoey Stiltjes. Zoey's logo submission was one of six the voters of Combined Locks were able to choose from. Her logo won by six (6) votes. President Neumeier thanked Zoey for taking the time to submit a logo and congratulated her on creating a logo that the Village Board unanimously supported.

The next item on the agenda was the Administrator Report. The report included information and updates concerning: financial software conversion, tax collections to date, new patrol deputies, yearend reporting, 2019 capital purchases, utility projects timeline, CE/K intersection public informational hearing, primary election for Kaukauna School Board, light problems at the archery range, Plan Commission meeting scheduled for 02/06, and a report that Doug Osterberg resigned from Midwest Paper Group.

The next item on the agenda was the Police Report. The report included information and updates concerning: 2018 calls for service in review, explanation of how medical calls are coded, a request to increase enforcement of the "no trucks" on Prospect Street, new patrol deputies, and Sergeant Schuette's promotion to Detective with the Outagamie County Sheriff's Office.

The next item on the agenda was the Public Works Report. The report included information and updates concerning: snow plowing and salting operations in November and December, water main breaks on Wallace Street, tree trimming, Christmas tree collection, annual reporting, and preparing for 2019 utility replacement projects.

The next item on the agenda was to review and consider approval of operator licenses for E. Proctor, S. Steckbauer and B. Kurkowski. T. Stutzman made a motion to deny the operator license for E. Proctor. R. Wulgaert seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously. E. Proctor was not in attendance to appeal the decision. J. Krueger made a motion to table the decision for B. Kurkowski until the background check is completed. C. Vander Zanden seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously. Mr. Stephen Steckbauer was invited to discuss his application with the Board as Sergeant Schuette has recommended denial of the license based on the parameters for approval. Mr. Steckbauer explained that he had forgotten to disclose a fine on the application. This is grounds for denial. Mr. Steckbauer explained that he has suffered from concussions following a motorcycle accident, and although this is not an excuse, he asked the Board for consideration to approve his license since the omitted fine was issued more than two years ago. The matter was discussed. T. Stutzman made a motion to approve a 1-year license for Stephen Steckbauer. R. Wulgaert seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously. The Administrator and Sergeant Schuette were directed to review the licensing parameters and recommend changes at a future meeting.

The next item on the agenda was to review and consider approval of the 2019 mileage reimbursement rate. It was noted that the Village has historically followed the IRS mileage rate. For 2019, the IRS mileage rate is \$ .58 per mile. K. Vander Wielen made a motion to approve the 2019 mileage reimbursement rate at \$ .58 per mile. C. Vander Zanden seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

The next item on the agenda was to review and consider adoption of Resolution 2019-1 regarding recognition of Adult School Crossing Guards. The Administrator read the resolution aloud and noted a thank you to the current crossing guards: Luella Opsteen, Keith Creel and Jim Foust. R. Wulgaert made a motion to adopt Resolution 2019-1. K. Vander Wielen seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

The next item on the agenda was to review and consider adoption of Resolution 2019-2 regarding special assessments for sanitary sewer lateral replacements on Park Street. The Administrator reminded the Board that the resolution is statutorily required whenever the Village plans to assess property owners for utility or street improvements. T. Stutzman made a motion to adopt Resolution 2019-2. J. Krueger seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

The next item on the agenda was to discuss and consider approval to pursue financing options to reconstruct DeBruin Road from County Highway CE south to Martineau Road. The Administrator explained that with Kwik Trip's anticipated construction in 2020, it would be best to reconstruct this section of DeBruin Road to avoid business interruption for Kwik Trip when it opens in 2020. She noted that this cost was not part of the 2019 budget, and a budget adjustment would need to be made. The matter was discussed. The Administrator was instructed to pursue financing options and speak with Town of Buchanan representatives as they share the roadway.

In other general business and updates, the ballot order for the Spring Election is: 1) Cathy Vander Zanden, 2) Justin Krueger and 3) Vacant. The Administrator reminded the Board of the CE/K intersection public informational hearing scheduled for 01/23/19 at the County Highway Department. The hearing is scheduled for 1:00pm and 6:00pm. Ruth Wulgaert was presented with a plaque for her years of service as Village Trustee, and Justin Krueger read a brief history of who has left the Village Board since his arrival in 2006.

J. Ponto made a motion to adjourn the meeting. R. Wulgaert seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.